Booth C.C. was founded in 1893. The club’s debut match was against neighbours Luddenden Foot St. Mary’s.
In the early years of their existence, Booth were ground-less and played in various locations. These included Tommy Lane and a field behind the Woodman Inn which was also inhabited by cows.
In 1895 a pitch was leveled at Carr House. However, it seems unlikely that it was ever used as the club were offered the Woodman Inn venue, where it remained until 1942.
In 1946 permission was granted to construct a permanent headquarters at Broad Fold. Building work took place in 1947, which meant that all the club's 'home' games during that season had to be played away.
The new ground was opened on 24 April 1948, and Mr R.H. Murgatroyd, owner of the local mill, bowled the first ball on the new turf to Bob Midgley.
The 1960s were a vintage period were the Parish Cup was won on five occasions and the Halifax League title twice. Surely this meant that Booth were the team of the decade in local cricket.
There were further developments in the 1980s: the pavilion was extended, a new car park was built.
Today we are hoping to encourage new membership and volunteers to the club, where our bar and playing facilities are excellent. The clubhouse can be hired for private functions. Everyone is welcome whether you are a player or a spectator.
Booth may be a small village, with only a few rows of terraces, but its cricket ground is definitely worth a visit. It's a small venue but very attractive. The ground is overlooked by a big manor house and all in all it's a lovely setting